Are We Properly Dressed for the Party?

In the past few weeks, we have been talking about how we HAVE more than enough of everything we need; it’s just a matter of recognizing it, appreciating it, and using it…despite, and often, because of its flaws.  The items others may cast away or look down upon can become some of our most valued treasures, giving us freedom from worry, debt, wasted energy, or at least constant cleaning.  The ugly towel.  The dated couch in the basement.  The blue Formica counter tops.

We’re learning to stop judging and start enjoying.

Now, can we apply that same mentality to ourselves?

I struggle with this constantly in my own life.  When I open my closet doors, I recognize that there’s already enough in there for whatever I need to do.  I don’t need to rush out to buy a new outfit just because I’ve been invited to a party, and of course, never refuse an invitation because I don’t have the right outfit.  I just open the doors with confidence, recognize the gifts it contains, and start partying.

But when I look inside myself, I so often fail to recognize that there’s already enough in there for whatever God needs me to do. When a big opportunity calls, my instinct is to either insist I need something MORE (more education? more experience? more talent?) before accepting the invitation, or…even worse…decline because I’m not “properly dressed.”

How many parties are we going to miss out on in our lives before we realize that God doesn’t care what we’re wearing…he just wants us to show up?

In fact, how often have you been put at ease by someone else’s casual dress at a party? I know I’m drawn to these people, the second I walk in the door.  They’re the ones I know aren’t judging me; who don’t have to look better than me to enjoy themselves, and who are able to make me feel better about myself (and my outfit) in the process.

God’s party is the same way.  The more cracked, flawed, dingy, or under-dressed we are when we show up to do His work, the more people will be able to relate to us.  The more they will be able to see God in us.

The more they will be able to start seeing God in themselves.

We have to start appreciating our flaws and weaknesses and baggage and blind spots for what they are: ice breakers at God’s party.  Whatever we’re wearing, whatever we are, whatever we have, we have a place at that party, and we have that place NOW.

It’s time to start doing whatever we’re being called to do, and prepare ourselves to accept that call the minute it comes in…without even looking in the mirror first.  We look just fine.

And just look at God’s written invitation to us for this party:

2 Timothy 3:17 says, “Everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work.” And Ephesians 2:10: “For we are what he has made us, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand to be our way of life.”

The invitations are endless.  We’ll find them throughout the Bible.  We’ll see them in every person you meet.  We’ll recognize them in every need that grabs our attention.

And not once will it come with a dress code.

You’re ready.  You’re able.  You’re perfect.  Just start enjoying it and bring the rest of us with you.

Leave a Reply

